This page looks best with JavaScript enabled

Simple Way to Prepare Speedy Maizena (Puerto Rican hot cereal)

 ·  ☕ 3 min read  ·  ✍️ Ryan Watkins
    🏷️

Maizena (Puerto Rican hot cereal)

Hello everybody, it’s Jim, welcome to my recipe page. Today, I’m gonna show you how to prepare a special dish, maizena (puerto rican hot cereal). It is one of my favorites food recipes. This time, I will make it a bit tasty. This will be really delicious.

Maizena (Puerto Rican hot cereal) is one of the most popular of recent trending foods on earth. It’s easy, it is fast, it tastes delicious. It is appreciated by millions daily. Maizena (Puerto Rican hot cereal) is something that I’ve loved my whole life. They are fine and they look fantastic.

Today I made for you my version of Maizena or Corn starch hot cereal. This recipe is really good and almost exactly what I grew up with in my Puerto Rican household. The light taste of the coconut milk really. Maizena (Puerto Rican hot cereal) Recipe by.

To get started with this recipe, we have to prepare a few ingredients. You can have maizena (puerto rican hot cereal) using 5 ingredients and 4 steps. Here is how you cook that.

The ingredients needed to make Maizena (Puerto Rican hot cereal):
  1. Prepare 2 1/2 cup milk separated
  2. Make ready 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  3. Make ready 2 tbsp granulated sugar (more or less depending on how sweet you like it)
  4. Take 1 tsp cinnamon
  5. Make ready 2 tbsp cornstarch

Categories World Cuisine Recipes Latin American Caribbean. I ate this as a treat with my best friend After School. It is called Funche, a Puerto Rican polenta mush. It is Sooo Good,it's warm,creamy and a bit sweet.

Steps to make Maizena (Puerto Rican hot cereal):
  1. In a saucepan bring 2 cups of milk, vanilla extract and sugar to a boil Stirring constantly. Once boiling lower heat to simmer
  2. In a cup, take remaining milk and add cornstarch until there are no lumps. (Milk must be very cold)
  3. Slowly add the milk/cornstarch mixture into pot. Do not use all of it as you may need to add a little more cornstarch if it does not thicken enough. (Consistency should be like a thick gravy)
  4. Eat right away.

It is called Funche, a Puerto Rican polenta mush. It is Sooo Good,it's warm,creamy and a bit sweet. I Use Harina de maiz mas fina(A very fine cornmeal, Goya makes it)) so its smooth not grainy. I have been searching for quite sometime but in wrong places, not thinking it was like mush but sweet :o(. Unlike my titi who would make an amazing vanilla based maizena (Puerto Rican reference), mi abuela would add a packet or two of hot cocoa mix.

So that is going to wrap it up for this special food maizena (puerto rican hot cereal) recipe. Thank you very much for reading. I’m sure that you can make this at home. There’s gonna be more interesting food at home recipes coming up. Remember to bookmark this page on your browser, and share it to your family, colleague and friends. Thanks again for reading. Go on get cooking!

Share on