This page looks best with JavaScript enabled

How to Make Ultimate Dad's Chili

 ·  ☕ 4 min read  ·  ✍️ Marcus Phillips
    🏷️

Dad's Chili

Hello everybody, it is me again, Dan, welcome to our recipe page. Today, I will show you a way to make a special dish, dad's chili. One of my favorites food recipes. For mine, I am going to make it a little bit unique. This is gonna smell and look delicious.

Dad's Chili is one of the most popular of recent trending meals in the world. It’s simple, it’s fast, it tastes delicious. It is enjoyed by millions daily. Dad's Chili is something that I have loved my entire life. They are nice and they look wonderful.

Make Your Gift Stand Out With a Special Message. Choose From Our Huge Range of Gifts. I am not a big lover of chili but growing up I always loved my Dad's chili. I didn't have the recipe when he died and after lots of digging in my memories and trial and errors I finally figured it out.

To get started with this particular recipe, we must first prepare a few ingredients. You can cook dad's chili using 10 ingredients and 8 steps. Here is how you cook it.

The ingredients needed to make Dad's Chili:
  1. Prepare 1 lb ground sirloin
  2. Make ready 3-4 diced vine-ripe tomatoes
  3. Get 1 cup (or more, to taste) cooked pinto beans**
  4. Take 3 Tbsp tomato sauce (optional)
  5. Prepare 3 diced garlic cloves
  6. Prepare 1/2 cup diced red onion
  7. Make ready Oregano
  8. Prepare Cumin
  9. Prepare Paprika or crushed red pepper flakes (desired spice level)
  10. Take 1 Tbsp olive oil

While onion sautes brown the beef and sausage, drain. To a large stock/soup pot over low heat add beans, green chilis, and tomatoes. Add onion and jalapeno when tender to pot and add meat when brown. Add chili powder, garlic, and cumin.

Instructions to make Dad's Chili:
  1. In a 'chili pot' (with a cover), heat oil to a medium heat, then add garlic and onion. Saute for a few minutes, until fragrant.
  2. Add 1Tbsp of oregano, 1/2tsp of cumin and 1tsp of paprika. Stir.
  3. Add beef and brown to a pink/brown shade (almost fully cooked). If you choose to 'spice up' seasonings, do it now. I love experimenting with garam masala, savory, ground clove, cinnamon, turmeric, black pepper and ground ginger
  4. Add beans with a 1/4 cup of liquid from cooking or can. Stir. Cover and cook for 5-10min. on med/low heat. (This is when you can dice the tomatoes)
  5. Add 1Tbps of oregano, and more paprika or crushed red pepper flakes to taste. Then add tomatoes. Stir. Cover. Continue cooking for 10min.
  6. The chili will be 'done' now. But, the longer you let it simmer, the deeper the flavor. Thicken the chili with tomato sauce, or tomato paste, but keep in mind to add more spices to adjust the flavor.
  7. For me, I've adjusted 'too spicy' with oregano and hint of basil. I've adjusted 'too mild' with savory and paprika. Have fun!!! Enjoy:-)
  8. *If you have never cooked beans from scratch for your chili, I recommend you try it. What a difference!! 1/2 to 3/4cup dried beans is plenty for this recipe. Soak them in 2cups of water over night. Dump the water into your garden in the morning and place the beans in pot with 4cups of water, 2-3 halved garlic cloves, black pepper, paprika and possibly a cinnamon stick or 2. Bring to a boil, turn down to simmer, and cover. Cook for 3-4hours.

Add onion and jalapeno when tender to pot and add meat when brown. Add chili powder, garlic, and cumin. My dad's chili is hearty, spicy, and full of meat. My dad calls it the "all meat, all the time" chili. So meat lovers, get your chili bowls ready, you are going to love my Dad's Spicy Chili.

So that’s going to wrap this up with this special food dad's chili recipe. Thanks so much for reading. I am confident you can make this at home. There is gonna be more interesting food at home recipes coming up. Don’t forget to bookmark this page on your browser, and share it to your loved ones, friends and colleague. Thanks again for reading. Go on get cooking!

Share on