This page looks best with JavaScript enabled

Easiest Way to Make Perfect My Grandmother's Recipe for Okinawan "Jushi"

 ·  ☕ 4 min read  ·  ✍️ Roger Hubbard
    🏷️

My Grandmother's Recipe for Okinawan "Jushi"

Hello everybody, it is Louise, welcome to our recipe site. Today, I will show you a way to prepare a distinctive dish, my grandmother's recipe for okinawan "jushi". It is one of my favorites food recipes. For mine, I will make it a little bit tasty. This will be really delicious.

My Grandmother's Recipe for Okinawan "Jushi" is one of the most well liked of current trending foods on earth. It is appreciated by millions every day. It is easy, it is quick, it tastes delicious. They’re fine and they look wonderful. My Grandmother's Recipe for Okinawan "Jushi" is something which I have loved my entire life.

This is an Okinawan home cooking dish that my grandmother and my mother used to make a lot when I was little. It brings me back to my childhood, and so I decided to write this recipe down before I forget it. You can make this with ingredients found in mainland Japan. You could use pork belly instead of ground pork, but.

To begin with this particular recipe, we have to prepare a few components. You can cook my grandmother's recipe for okinawan "jushi" using 21 ingredients and 7 steps. Here is how you can achieve it.

The ingredients needed to make My Grandmother's Recipe for Okinawan "Jushi":
  1. Make ready 1000 grams Rice
  2. Get ◆Main ingredients
  3. Get 50 grams Hijiki
  4. Prepare 1 Satsuma-age or Chikuwa
  5. Take 1 small Carrot
  6. Get 4 Dried shiitake mushrooms
  7. Prepare 100 ml Water to soak the dried shiitake mushrooms
  8. Make ready ♦For the ground pork
  9. Take 150 grams Ground pork
  10. Take 2 tbsp Soy sauce
  11. Make ready 1 tbsp Awamori or sake
  12. Prepare 1 tbsp Sugar
  13. Take 1 tsp Roasted sesame seeds
  14. Prepare 1 Sesame oil (for stir-frying)
  15. Take 300 grams Water to parboil the ground pork
  16. Prepare ♦Seasonings to cook the "Jushi"
  17. Get 2 tbsp Soy sauce
  18. Make ready 1 tbsp Awamori or sake
  19. Get 1 tsp Salt
  20. Make ready 1 tsp Dashi stock granules
  21. Take 1 tsp Lard or vegetable oil

My Grandmother's Recipe for Okinawan "Jushi" is something which I've loved my whole life. To get started with this recipe, we must prepare a few components. This is an Okinawan home cooking dish that my grandmother and my mother used to make a lot when I was little. It brings me back to my childhood, and so I decided to write this recipe down before I forget it.

Instructions to make My Grandmother's Recipe for Okinawan "Jushi":
  1. Wash the rice 30 minutes to 1 hour before cooking, and drain in a colander.
  2. Parboil the ground pork in 300 ml of water. Skim off the scum from the broth and set it aside.
  3. Add the boiled ground pork, sesame oil, soy sauce, awamori, roasted sesame seeds, and sugar in a frying pan, and fry until the liquid has evaporated.
  4. Finely chop all of the main ingredients except for the hijiki. Rehydrate the dried shiitake mushrooms in 100 ml water, and set the soaking water aside for later use. I also used 2 pieces of satsuma-age.
  5. Add the ground pork broth and the shiitake soaking water to the washed rice until the liquid mixture rises to slightly less than the three cup line in the rice cooker. Add some water if needed.
  6. Add the seasoned ground pork and "Jushi" seasonings to the rice cooker, and add the lard at the end. If you don't have lard, use vegetable oil instead. Cook in the rice cooker.
  7. It's also nice if you garnish with yomogi (mugwart) or green onion to finish ♪ This is good even cold, so you can buy "Jushi" rice balls in Okinawa.

This is an Okinawan home cooking dish that my grandmother and my mother used to make a lot when I was little. It brings me back to my childhood, and so I decided to write this recipe down before I forget it. Okinawan Basics, which includes Kanduba Jushi (Rice Gruel) and Hirayachi (Chive Crepes);. Chef Grant has found a way to share his grandmother's recipes and his vision of those dishes with all of us. With this cookbook as a model, Grant hopes that "people to start cooking on their own, as well as learn from their elders before their pass.

So that is going to wrap it up with this exceptional food my grandmother's recipe for okinawan "jushi" recipe. Thanks so much for your time. I am sure that you can make this at home. There’s gonna be interesting food in home recipes coming up. Remember to bookmark this page in your browser, and share it to your loved ones, friends and colleague. Thank you for reading. Go on get cooking!

Share on